Facebook Repairs Bug That Prompted Brief iOS App Outages

Facebook Repairs Bug That Prompted Brief iOS App Outages

Popular smartphone apps, including Spotify and Pinterest, suffered losses for a few hours on Friday due to a bug in Facebook’s system. A spokesperson said that Facebook has resolved the problem.

Also Read: Foxconn said to plan $1 billion investment in India.

“Earlier today, a code change caused a crash for some iOS apps using the Facebook SDK,” or software development kit, the spokesman said. “We quickly identified the issue and resolved it. We apologize for any inconvenience.”

Also Read: Lenovo Legion Gaming Phone Spotted on Geekbench

App users began reporting on Twitter early Friday that they were unable to open Spotify and other sites. Downdetector, which monitors Internet problems in real-time, showed an increase in problems for many applications, including Spotify, Pinterest, Waze and the New York Times.

Also Read: Boat ProGear B20 Smart Band With Real-Time Heart Rate Monitoring Launched.  

It reported a major spike in problems around 10:30 am GMT (4pm IST), and a decline in user issues around 1pm GMT (6:30 pm IST).

Follow iCvsTech on Facebook and Twitter. For the latest newstech news, breaking news headlines and live updates checkout icvstech.com